Oz * 1950 in Heidelberg; † September 25, 2014 in Hamburg Oz

1977: Jimmy Carter becomes President of the USA, Amnesty International receives the Nobel Peace Prize and Helmut Schmidt is German Chancellor. Who would have noticed that a small man quietly but obtrusively began to spray the gray concrete walls around him with his works of smileys, lettering, squiggles, spirals and dots.

Almost 30 years later, the situation is already different: The sprayer, who is now known throughout Germany under the name »Oz«, is sentenced to several years in prison for his work. Encouraged by fans and supporters, fueled by opponents and despisers, both from all different subcultures, social and political classes, a public discussion about his works ensues, which is then presented and prepared for a wide range of media.

The core of the discussion, in addition to the question of the rights of citizens and artists in public space, is always the value of their work in an artistic context. In addition, Oz mainly aims his work at gray walls and dreary surfaces - works which he distributes in unrivaled numbers and masses throughout the city: all city. This earned him a lot of respect, especially in the Sprayer & Writer scene, although he neither felt he belonged nor actively maintained contact with its members. But ordinary people also enjoy the colorful smileys and characteristic large-scale wall paintings, as a smile often conjures up a new smile.

However, he does not always encounter positive feedback, as he relentlessly defended himself, despite all bans, arrests, threats and abuse, by continuously disregarding norms and socially imposed values. The associated, never-ending wave of lawsuits can therefore only be understood as a logical consequence in a constitutional state.

The person Oz is revered as outlawed, hero and hunted in one person, in constant confrontation with his own controversies and the public debate about his work.

ArabicChinese (Simplified)DanishEnglishFrenchGermanHindiJapaneseKoreanRussianSpanish
 © OZM gGmbH all rights reserved | 2022-06-25 HAMMERBROOKLYN

Artist Oz

Oz * 1950 in Heidelberg; † 25. September 2014 in Hamburg

Oz

1977: Jimmy Carter wird in den USA Präsident, Amnesty International erhält den Friedensnobelpreis und Helmut Schmidt ist deutscher Bundeskanzler. Wem wäre dabei aufgefallen, dass ein kleiner Mann leise, aber penetrant damit begann, die grauen Betonmauern seiner Umgebung mit seinen Werken aus Smileys, Schriftzügen, Kringel, Spiralen und Punkten zu besprühen.

Knapp 30 Jahre später sieht der Sachverhalt schon anders aus: Der unter dem Namen »Oz« mittlerweile deutschlandweit bekannte Sprayer wird aufgrund seines Schaffens insgesamt zu mehreren Jahren Haft verurteilt. Bestärkt durch Fans und Unterstützer, befeuert von Gegnern & Verächtern, beide aus allen unter-schiedlichsten Subkulturen, sozialen wie politischen Schichten entfacht sich eine öffentliche Disskussion über seine Werke welche medial für eine breite Maße aufbereitet und zur Schau gestellt wird.

Kernpunkt der Diskussion ist neben der Frage auf das Recht des Bürgers wie auch des Künstlers im öffentlichen Raum immer wieder die Wertigkeit seiner Arbeit im künstlerischen Kontext. Darüber hinaus zielt Oz mit seinen Arbeiten hauptsächlich auf graue Wände und triste Flächen ab – Arbeiten welche er in unangefochtener Anzahl und Masse in der ganzen Stadt verteilt: all city. Dies brachte ihm vor allem in der Sprayer & Writer-Szene großen Respekt ein, obgleich er sich dieser weder zugehörig fühlte noch aktiv Kontakt zu deren Mitgliedern pflegt. Aber auch der normale Bürger erfreut sich an den bunten Smileys und charakteristischen großflächigen Wandbemalungen, zaubert doch ein Lächeln oftmals ein neues Lächeln hervor.

Er stößt aber nicht immer auf positives Feedback, setzte er sich doch unaufhaltsam und trotz aller Verbote, Verhaftungen, Drohungen und Misshandlungen doch vehement durch kontinuierliche Missachtung von Normen und sozial auferlegten Wertvorstellungen zur Wehr. Die damit verbundene, nicht enden wollende Klagewelle lässt sich in einem Rechtsstaat daher lediglich als logische Konsequenz begreifen.

Die Person Oz wird verehrt wie geächtet, ist Held und Gejagter in einer Person, in ständiger Konfrontation mit seiner eigenen Kontroversen und der öffentlichen Debatte über sein Schaffen.

About Oz | Exhibitions | Catalog | Art Store | Virtual Gallery | OZM TV